Recipe: Sweet Potato and Ginger Soup

DSC_0197

Since I began my BraisedBlue2You soup adventure I’ve been looking to develop a cold soup for the summer. I am under no illusions that nobody wants to eat potato leek soup when it’s 105 outside and you’re sweat is sweating. So this was my first try for a cold soup and I failed. Luckily this soup really works well as a hot soup. This one isn’t for the faint of heart. This soup has some major league heat to it between the ginger and the sambal. Also you can buy this and all my soups directly from me or for the fine people at Lee and Maria’s Market in Kingsville and other locations around the county very soon.

Ingredients:

3 lbs Sweet Potatoes (Diced)

2 Onions (diced)

1 large bulb of ginger (diced fine)

2 cloves garlic (whole)

2 tsp Sambal *

1 litre vegetable stock

Cloves

Thai Basil

Salt

Black Pepper

Directions: 

In an oiled pot on medium heat sweat your onions. Then add your garlic and ginger to sweat those ingredients as well. There should be some serious aromatics going on at this point and I find that ginger can burn fast so adding a little oil or a few splashes of stock can really help it from sticking a burning. Then add you Sambal, cloves and thai basil this will again increase you aromatics and I implore you to not touch the Sambal with your hands and touch your face and/or genitals it is a horrible 30 minutes if you do.** Once all of the aromatics and onions are cooked down add you sweet potato. Keep in mind that sweet potato acts like a sponge which is great for incorporating flavour but not so great for making a soup. Make sure you have stock or water on hand to deglaze and add moisture to your pot, or you’re going to be in trouble. Once the sweet potato seems pump and hydrated begin to add stock or water to the pot, cover and simmer for 2 hours. Once the soup has simmered you can take the pot off heat and let the soup cool before pureeing it with an immersion blender. Garnish the soup with some Thai Basil and a dollop of greek yogurt to cool things off if need be. Enjoy!

*Sambal is a thai chili paste that will make your eye lids sweat.

**A few weeks ago I was making taco’s for an event at Sprucewood Shores Estate Winery(and I will be back on June 22nd from 1-3!) within two hours I had touched my eye with Habanero hands and accidentally choked on a tortilla that was full of spicy pork and habenero relish and that mixture was coughed out of my nose. So I am reminded at how much the experience of hot peppers being sloshed about in your mucous membranes can be. Wear gloves or wash very throughly my friends, or face the wrath.