Barley Sandwich: Reviews from a Beer Snob Vol 1.

So I have talked wine on this blog, I’ve talked scotch, bourbon and tequila. What has been missing is something that at it’s best I love but at it’s worst/most mediocre, I hate, of course you’ve read the title of this article and you know I am writing about beer. Now I am a self proclaimed beer snob, I dislike many more beers than I like. I have probably unabashedly shat upon something any number of my friends to their faces because of their beer choice, it’s something I do. So be forewarned Molson drinkers you may not like this article.

I guess the biggest thing I am looking for in a beer is flavour.* In a more specific way, I really enjoy Dark Malty Ales, West Coast Style IPAs, Belgian Abby or Trappist Style ales, and stouts. With that said if I see words like Lager, Pilsner, cold filtered, ice beer, or Alexander Keiths I never want to stop vomiting. So today I have three beers that I want to recommend and talk about briefly or not. They are all craft brews stretching from Portland to Halifax, and they all do very different things.

Rogue Dead Guy Ale: This is a Maibock style beer. A Hazy yellow/brown beer without a ton of carbonation. Rogue is one of my favourite semi larger production beer company, and dead guy is a really great every day drinker, nothing to heavy but also tons of complexity. The nose is lightly citrus with toasty notes. The beer its self is mellow and flavourful, faint carmel blended with citrus peel and nice bitterness. The finish is clean and doesn’t linger long but I really enjoy it. This beer is fantastic with barbecue, and just pork in general.

 

Propeller Revolution Russian Imperial Stout: Russian Imperial Stouts were british stouts made for export to Russia with huge alcohol contents that stabilized the beer during it’s boat trip across the Baltic sea. Propeller Brewery out of Halifax does a really nice Russian Imperial Stout. Coming in at a solid 8% alcohol**, this inky black beer has a medium quality head that doesn’t stick around long but pours almost a brown colour. The nose is a powerful mix of dried fruit, molasses and a little bit of Banana at the end. The flavour kind of belies the nose, lots of bitter notes here. Anise, dark chocolate, smoke, tannic fruit flavours all rule the palate which makes this a bit of a challenging beer. It’s not something you’re going to be drinking all night, but it’s defiantly something a beer lover should try. I would be all for this going with a nice steak or even a chocolate dessert.

 

Trafalgar Cognac Aged Porter: I’ve never had a cognac aged beer before and I don’t know if I would ever seek one out again but I am happy I got to try one and kind of dismiss it. Trafalgar makes a wonderful package but this beer is very underwhelming. Porters are all about big bold flavours but this one is way too light on flavour. I assume it’s because they are clearing the way for all that Cognac flavour that never really comes. The beer is a wonderful dark brown beer with almost auburn hues. The flavours are so muted and bland that I couldn’t really enjoy the beer. But it did leave me with a handsome swingtop bottle to give to my brother for home brewing.

 

So you have two beers to try and one beer to point at on the shelf and dismiss, enjoy them responsibly and tune back in for more Braised Blue goodness.

 

*Please take this in the most snark laden tone a human being can produce.

**This sits at the low end of the Russian Imperial Stout alcohol percentage spectrum.