In Vino Veritas: Recipe Redux Part 7

Christmas this year has been a lot of food, a lot of alcohol and a lot of family and friends. It’s been great, this year, after five years of being stuck in Calgary with very little family or friends who with to spend the day. Today I am a little hungover and tired so I will give you some wine ideas for my previous recipes as well a short pontification about wine that may help you all in the future.

General Christmas Fare: Christmas time means traditional food and sometimes boring food. Tradition is great and a great way to not spoil tradition is to choose a wine that you love. There is all kind of “rules” that sommeliers will taught when it comes to classic holiday fare and I am not going to dignify them with digital ink. Even the best turkey is the world is still kind of boring, when the chips are down, so choosing a wine because the rules say you should pick it is going to lead to more boring. Think of your holiday turkey as a blank canvas and choose a wine you like to go with it. I’m not even going to suggest something, enjoy what you like.*

The Braised Blue Breakfast Burrito: “Wine for breakfast,” you ask?

“Yes,” I reply with an unimpressed look on my face.

“I’ve heard of champagne for breakfast but you’re pairing a breakfast burrito with wine, that is crazy.”

“So are your provincial views on wine and food kojack.” I open a bottle of dry, spicy spanish rose.

“Is that wine pink?”

“You can leave now.”

The above was a dramatization speaking to the delicate nature of my relationship with my readers. Don’t fucking doubt me readers**, you can pair a dry spanish rose with a breakfast burrito. The dry, but refreshing rose will work well with the spice of the dish and the acid will do well in cutting the fattiness of the bacon. It’s a really great combination.

Christmas Cornish Game Hens: This recipe is rich, I made it yesterday with bacon substituted with the Fois Gras and it was great. It also screamed for a good red wine with some nice acidity to give you a reprieve from all the rich. I would recommend a good Chianti Classico***. The bright acidity of the wine will work well with the richness of this dish. The tart red fruit flavours could even work as a replacement to cranberry sauce.

*Also there is something glorious about the mixture of Turkey’s tryptophan and a good red wine buzz that makes visions of sugar plums dance in your head while you snore away on your couch post dinner(sorry family).

**I love you, but seriously don’t doubt me or I will kick you out of my burrito and wine breakfast in bed.

***When I worked for a large Albertan liquor retailer I learned that many people pronounced Chianti, She-On-Tay. The iconic italian food wine that also sounds like a R&B singer. You’d think this is a one time thing but dozens of times I’ve been confronted with a person asking about a good She-On-Tay to go with their marinara sauce. So for my readers who I just embarrassed it’s pronounced Key-on-Ti.