Recipe: Mashed Potatoes

In all the recipes I’ve done on Braised Blue it blows my mind that I’ve never done mashed potatoes. I say this because it’s one the the things I am really great at making. Now as you read this, you’re probably thinking, “any idiot can make mashed potatoes.” This is true, any idiot can make mashed potatoes but not every idiot can make them as good as I can make them. I am going to teach you a few of the tricks I’ve learned to make the best mashed potatoes you’ll ever taste.

Ingredients:

6 large Yukon Gold Potatoes(1/2 thick slices)*

2 cups salted butter

2 tbs sour cream

1 clove garlic

1 cup finely grated colby cheese.

Salt (To taste)

Black Pepper(To taste)

In a large pot filled with salted hot water place bring to a boil add your potatoes and allow them to cook until soft. This should take about 20-30 minutes depending on your water:potato ratio. Pour into a colander and allow some of the starch to drain out of the potatoes. In the same pot add half of your butter and garlic and on low heat just let the garlic sweat a little bit. Then add your drained potatoes and take off the heat. Begin to mash with a hand masher and add the rest of your butter and sour cream. Then get your immersion blender and begin to whip the potatoes slowly adding your cheese which should integrate into the potato giving it a slightly yellow tinge. Every so often with a spatula get any lumps that may be at the bottom or sides of the pot and integrate them into the blender.

After a few minutes of whipping, you should have a rich, but light and fluffy mashed potato ready to serve. Enjoy!

*I love using Yukon Gold because they are not at starchy as russets or cannabecs. I find when there is too much starch in your mash potatoes they can turn out kind of gluey. This texture isn’t a horrible thing but it’s not a good thing either.