Recipe: Espresso Crusted Beef Tenderloin with Butternut Squash Gruyere Chips.

As some of my long time readers may know, I am pretty much off caffeine. I drink decafe*, I stay away from energy drinks and I don’t drink pop very often. Mainly because I have a anxiety disorder which is set off by a number of things including stimulants.  With that said coffee and beef are two things to go great together and sometimes breaking the rules is a good thing.

The Beef

Ingredients:

2 Beef Tenderloin Steaks

Olive Oil

Sea Salt

Espresso(Coarse Ground)

Black pepper

Directions: Take your tenderloins and coat them in olive oil. Crust them with the sea salt, pepper, coffee. In a conditioned cast iron skillet sear them on high heat for about four minutes on each side. This should get you to a nice rare level. You can then cook to your preferred heat. I personally prefer tenderloin very rare, but I understand the aversion to rare meat. So do whatever makes your inner fat kid happy.

 

The Squash

Ingredients:

1 Butternut squash

olive oil

sea salt

black pepper

Cinnamon

gruyere cheese(grated)

Directions: Cut the butternut squash into puck shaped pieces about 1/4 of an inch thick. Toss the pieces of squash in oil and then coat with black pepper, sea sat and cinnamon. On a heated BBQ place the squash on the grill. Cook the squash until it becomes crispy on the outside. This should take about 3-5 minutes on each side. Then add the cheese on each let melt and remove from grill.

 

*I’ve likened it to a cocaine addict who begins to snort the dust in his house hoping there was some cocaine that happened to reside there.