Recipe: BBQ Baked Beans With Bacon

Normally when I write a recipe I do an entire meal. I am much too hung over and sleep deprived to do that*. So I am going to give you the low down on a simple and fast side dish that will blow your mind.

Ingredients:

1 Can Black Beans(Strained and rinsed in cold water)

5 slices of bacon cut into half inch wide pieces.

3 Table Spoons of grainy mustard

1 cup of ketchup

2 oz bourbon

1 tbs balsamic vinegar

1 ts siracha sauce (or any hot sauce of your choice)

Directions: In a pot render your sliced bacon at medium high heat, I like to make it pretty crispy as it will be sitting in a bunch of sauce and a little crunch from the bacon adds some nice texture. Then add your beans. Let the beans and bacon really marry together. Don’t worry if the beans are mushy they will taste like bacon and that is a good thing.** The add the bourbon to deglaze the bacon and beans. As the bourbon evaporates add the vinegar, ketchup, hot sauce and mustard. Let the mixture simmer for about thirty minutes and let those flavours really develop. You will end up with a smokey, bacony but nicely acidic bean dish. The mustard and vinegar balance the richness and the sweetness of the other ingredients. And the mustard grains almost pop like caviar as you eat.

* I will release another post about my Toronto weekend but there is some pretty good wear and tear on my brain from a few too many scotches and beers last night. I figured a recipe would be something low key but rewarding.

**Fuck did I just write that? I wonder if there is a Martha Stewart Hangovers.