Foods You Should Know: The Po’Boy Sandwich

First off, I would like to thank all of my new readers. When i did my social media launch of this blog this week. I was not really expecting much. But your response has been fantastic. I have locked up a guest blogger, one person has actually made my soup recipe and I’ve had over 100 hits just today.  So again, thank you guys so much, and please link your friends. The more response I get the more I will write to keep you fiends happy.

New Orleans, summer, 1929. A transit strike slows the city to a halt. A former transit worker named Benny Martin, in support of his former colleagues offers a free sandwich made of deep fried kitchen scraps. During this four month strike, the jobless workers from all over the city flock to Martin’s restaurant. The staff begins to call these men Poor Boys, which of course with the NOLA accent quickly becomes P0’Boys. Hense forth the Po’Boy Sandwich is born.*

In keeping with New Orleans’ character the Po’Boy becomes a staple item on every menu in town. And in true New Orleans spirit the Po’Boy becomes elevated to a different level. No longer kitchen scraps on day old bread, the Po’boy has gone artisan. The classic Po’By has fried shrimp or oysters, usually with a garlic aioli or red eye gravy painted onto a baguette. It’s simple, it’s fast, it’s delicious when done correctly.

I personally like a Po’Boy with fried Oysters, smoked bacon, arugula, and a garlic spread on the bread. I have also tried a Vietnamese Po’Boy that had Shrimp, with asian slaw and hot sauce which I loved long time.* I have also seen Po’Boys with white fish or perch.

So I put it to my readers, find me a place in the Windsor area, that will make me a Po’Boy with local ingredients. And if that doesn’t exist somebody put that on your menu, I will be at the front of the line for one.

*Sorry Asia

* The social history of food, and wine for that matter, almost always has an element of peasant food being elevated and becoming “gourmet”. This is an example of this elevation happening within the last 80 years.