Recipe: Quick Roast Chicken with Grilled Root Vegetables.

Before I start this recipe I am going to make a confession. I mostly stole this technique and chicken recipe from Thomas Keller. If you don’t know who Thomas Keller is google him and go to the website for The French Laundry and do your best not to drool on your keyboard. I don’t know Thomas Keller personally, but I am going to call him Tom because I feel like I’ve already stole his recipe I might as well refer time him informally and disrespectfully.

So here is where I post a video of Tom doing his quick roast chicken. It gives you a great visual on how to properly prep the bird.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EWLt6G85zC4

The Chicken

Prep:

Now that you saw Tom make something better than I will ever make, I will go over a few more prep ideas that for the sake of brevity the video did not show.  As much as vomiting for an evening or two would help my figure, I feel as though it’s important not to give my readers bacterial infections. So having a clean and clear surface to work with is always a good idea. You will be handling a bird quite a bit and chicken juice is one of those things that is going to end up everywhere, it’s best not to have all kinds of stuff laying around waiting to get contaminated. So the first thing you want to do is to make sure the chicken is not frozen on the inside, you do this by well for the lask of a better term fisting the carcus of the chicken.*  The next thing you should do is wash your hands. Make like Howard Hughes** and scrub those digits before you touch anything else in the kitchen. Then comes the fun part.

Ingredients:

1 Full Chicken

1/2 onion

Smoked Paprika

Kosher Salt

Black pepper

2 Slices of bacon julienned

1 tbs butter

1 full lemon juiced

2 cloves garlic finely diced.

So my take on Tom’s formula is also super simple. Inside the bird put, salt, pepper, bacon, onions, butter, lemon juice. On the outside of the bird liberally apply, salt, pepper, smoked paprika. You also do Tom’s de-boning technique and trussing technique. I want to create a different flavour profile for this recipe. More of an earthy smokey chicken dish to match up with my grilled root veggies. I have found that 425 is the best temperature to cook the bird at. And usually depending on size 45 minutes should do, as long as the chicken starts off at around room temp.

The Veggies:

I love root vegetables for a bunch of reasons, natural sweetness, great and varied textures, earthy flavours, are just a few. For this dish, I love using carrots, and purple turnips.

4 Large Carrots washed and unpealed

4 medium purple turnips, peeled and washed.

olive oil

balsamic vinegar

sea salt

pepper

Slice the carrots in half lengthwise and cut the turnips in potato chip sized slices about a centimeter thin. Toss them with the olive oil and balsamic mixture and let them sit for about 30 minutes. Then add salt and pepper. Toss them directly onto a hot grill. This should only take about four minutes per side. I like to leave a little crunch in the veggies, as well they hold onto their sweetness really well if you slightly under cook them. That sweetness will go along way to balance the smokiness that the grill will impart on the veggies.

What is great about this is, you can really do whatever you want with the recipe flavour wise. If you want to BBQ the chicken you totally can. If you want to put a sticky rub on the chicken you can. if you want to take mercy on a poor blogger and not sue him for stealing your recipe, you can.

*Yup I just posted this blog on facebook and all you new readers are getting chicken fisting right out of the gate. Take that gentle sensibilities.

**Yes that was a Howard Hughes reference, I like to keep things fresh and current here at Braised Blue. Join us next week when Jack Benny and I talk about what we ate the night we greased the jerries for good.