For Your Consideration: Motor Burger

My brother and I went this morning to find suits for his wedding. After a few hours of hard selling and eye rolling we needed to recharge our batteries. He said that there was a place on Erie Street that made some fantastic burgers. I was in.

The name Motor Burger brought about a picture in my minds eye of an unsavory grease trap with Harley Davidson memorabilia on the walls and a waitress who may or may not call everyone, “Hun”. A great burger is a simple thing, but as many simple things it is also, easy thing to screw up.

I was wrong about Motor Burger. It was not anything like I expected. The space is open and fresh, cool greens, natural wood and black boards with spec style drawing so of classic cars festoon the walls. I felt as if Benjamin Braddock would pull up in front of the open front doors in his Alpha Romero Spider toss the keys to the barkeep, and enjoy a burger.

The food was fantastic. I had the Deux Chevaux, a 100% angus brisket and chuck patty with carmelized onions, dijon Mustard, baby Spinach, gruyere cheese, applewood smoked bacon. It was complex but at the same time a very simple idea. A great burger with salty, sweet, smokey and tangy elements that all work together in making a fantastically messy burger. On the side I went with their onion rings, which were feather light and incredibly crunchy. The rest of the menu can be viewed at…. http://www.motorburger.ca/Menu.html

Now the prices at Motor Burger could be seen as daunting by those who don’t care about the quality of their burger. I have read urbanspoon reviews by people who complained about the prices, yes they are high, yes you can go to a pub and get an 8 dollar burger, yes you can go go home and grill a burger on your own. If you have leveled those complaints, please go to those places and leave me alone while I look down on your from my new favorite burger joint.