Cooking with Chemicals: Breakfast

The human brain is just a computer that would leave a puddle on your desk.

The brain is an organ that is just as chemical and electrical as it is biological tissue. We as human beings are where we are because of our brains. We can reason, we can problem solve and most importantly we can, based on past experience, predict the outcomes of our actions with a relatively accuracy.  But what happens when our brains don’t do what we need them to do?

Anxiety is a a natural physiological reaction to stress. We all deal with it, and most of us don’t give it a second thought. But what if you were not able to turn off anxiety? What if taking a deep breath, having a glass of wine, or an orgasm wasn’t enough to stem the tide of anxiety. What if it became so overwhelming that the fear of being anxious made you anxious?*

Over the past three years I have been dealing with an anxiety disorder that has at times been debilitating. For me, the anxiety that I experience will normally be followed by a depression. The more anxious I get, the more depressed I get. I like to think of it as a mood sling shot. The further I stretch myself the further away normal I will land. I am not going to list off many of my symptoms on here because it’s a food blog and many of them are not going to make you want to eat. They are physical and really not appetizing to talk about. **

Eating well is a huge part of dealing with anxiety and depression. Proteins, Carbs, fats, vitamins, and minerals all have major effects on the brain and the body. My first piece of advice is to eat breakfast. I spent years having coffee and maybe a muffin for breakfast. What I didn’t know was that my caffeine and carb bomb was setting me up for failure, when it came to coping with my anxiety.  Since getting my diet under control I make sure, I eat a good breakfast with lots of protein and a good amount of carbs. It sets me up for a great day. One breakfast I love is a few eggs, a couple pieces of toast and a whole avocado sliced up.

Avocado is a great fruit. It can add a creamy element to a dish without all the bad cholesterol and stomach ailments that comes from dairy. It gives dishes vibrant colour. Also avocados have tons of fibre and oleic acid which actually fools your endocrine system into feeling full sooner and longer.

Overall, a great breakfast is just a good base for your day. Battling depression and anxiety requires a full stomach to make for a clear mind.

*See every character Woody Allen has ever played.

**Here are the phyisical symptoms in a footnote do not read these if you are eating or planning on eating. Night sweats, Hot flashes, nausea, stomach cramps, bloating, irritable bowel syndrome or colitis like lower gastro-intestinal symptoms, back spasms, headaches, tightness in the chest, hyper ventilation, vertigo, etc.